Chanctonbury Ring
South Downs

The Frankland Arms is at the heart of the South Downs, with walks along the South Downs Way nearby.

The ridge walks along the downs provide stunning views. On the South Downs Way is Chanctonbury Ring. This is marked by a ring of trees on top of Chanctonbury Hill. It was originally a small hill fort believed to date from the Iron age, but some Bronze age pottery has also been found on the site. Evidence of Roman buildings have been found within the ring. The ring of beech trees that now mark the fort were planted in 1760 by Charles Goring. Many of the trees were destroyed by the hurricane of 1987. New trees were planted and are now beginning to restore the ring to its former prominence as a local landmark.

Close to Chanctonbury Ring is a Dew Pond. This is an artificial pond situated on the top of the hill to provide water for livestock. Dew ponds rarely failed even in severe droughts. The Dew pond at Chanctonbury was constructed around 1870 and was restored in 1970 by the Society of Sussex Downsmen.

The local area is extremely popular with walkers. The inn is featured
in the book "Pub Walks in West Sussex" which details a circular
walk of just over six miles that starts and ends at the Frankland
Arms.

The South Downs

Poppy field on the south downs